India Bank Branches

What is IFSC?

The Indian Financial System Code (IFSC Code) is 11 - character code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch participating in the two main Electronic Funds Settlement System : Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) and The National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT) System.

IFSC Code is used by the NEFT & RTGS systems to route the messages to the destination banks/branches


IFSC Code is like AAAA0BBBBBB:

  • AAAA = Four alphabetic characters representing Bank Name
  • 0 = Reserved for future use
  • BBBBBB = Six characters usually numeric but can be alphanumeric representing Branch

What is MICR Code?

Magnetic Ink Character Recognition Code (MICR Code) is a character-recognition technology used mainly by the banking industry to ease the processing and clearance of cheques and other documents.

The characters are usually printed on the bottom strip of cheque leaf. This MICR code is used By RBI (Reserve bank Of India) clearing process to identify the branch and bank for clearing processes.


MICR Code consists of 9 digits e.g. 700037002

  • First three digits are the city 700037002
  • Next three digits represent the bank 700037002
  • Last three digits represent the branch 700037002

Click here to Search Bank Branch

Search IFSC Code By Bank / Financial Institution Name

(click Bank / Financial institution Name to search IFSC Code)

Disclaimer : Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy before using informations from this website.